Skip navigation

viola.jpgI attended my son’s spring strings concert last night at his middle school.  I am simply amazed at the imagination and creativity of the inventor(s) of the cello, viola, and violin.  I would love to meet the inventor(s)/creator(s) and interrogate him/her/them – how did you come up with this shape? why the bow? Why only a few strings?  Why the depth?  How many ‘tries’ did it take to get the shape right?  Was this an accidental invention? What was especially amazing was the skill and passion that these 6th, 7th, and 8th graders played these musical instruments.  These young people made the instruments hum and sing with each stroke of the bow across the coated strings.  Bravo, bravo, bravo to the inventor(s) and to those who can make melodic music on these oddly shaped instruments. 

One Comment

  1. Luke, I couldn’t find your e-mail address, so I thought I’d just leave a comment here. Bill Foster at Fontbonne asked for your phone number to talk about some classes, and I dind’t have it, so I told him I’d tell you to get in touch with him. So I’ve just told you to get in touch with him. Cool.


Leave a Reply

