Skip navigation

I just returned from Goiania, Goias (in the country of Brazil).  What a wonderful trip it was.  One of my colleagues asked me, ‘how do you feel here in Brazil?’  He was really asking, ‘what is it like being an African American in Brazil?’  I answered this way – this is one place where I am not being judged by the color of my skin; people are actually listening to me.  Brazil is truly a place where Brazilians come in many shapes, shades, and sizes.  Brazilians come from England, Africa, Korean, Italy, etc.  So there is not one dominant race.  Racism is nil; but classism is the vice.  Ironically, there is international pressure being exerted on Brazilian institutions to reserve spots for blacks.  Remember racism is nil; but outsiders are trying to make race an issue in a country where race is not an issue.  My host (a Brazilian) says Brazilians are upset and he predicts that this mandate will loose steam.

Leave a Reply

