Skip navigation

I was talking with a colleague at work today; she holds a MFA (Masters of Fine Arts) and has written poetry and has been recognized for it.   I went on to say how our culture seems to appreciate or value athletics more so than the arts.  I mentioned the layout of many of the modern elementary and middle schools as one piece of evidence.  My son and daughter attended the same elementary and middle schools (at different times) but I noticed something: whenever either one played a musical instrument, the concert was held in the gym.  Bad idea because the acoustics are really awful (duh, it’s a gym).  I remember when I was a teenager, we had a separate auditorium for such art related events.  There is another sign or piece of evidence that we as a society seem to de-value the arts.  My colleague told me that when students take courses in the humanities department that they are lost because the subject matter is so foreign to them.  Other times we’re heard people say to an aspiring artist, “get a real job.”  I think it is just wonderful and beautiful and breathtaking to hear an opera singer; or to see a ballerina; or to see a splendid choreographed play.  It seems to me that our culture needs to recover an appreciation for the arts (visual, performing, etc.).

Leave a Reply

