Skip navigation

I picked up (or bought) a polo shirt from my alma mater, the University of Kansas, recently.  Originally, I was buying this shirt for my wife.  However, when I returned home she politely informed me that it was a male polo shirt.  So, now the shirt is mine (I didn’t plan it this way).  Now to my curiosity.  With Americans getting bigger, I wonder if clothing manufacturers are adjusting their traditional sizes (S, M, L) to keep pace with our ‘growth’.   I bought a small polo but it fits like a Medium on me.  Historically, a Small polo would be hugging my bulging belly.  I am left wondering: has our clothing manufacturers adjusted their sizes so that a Small is now really a Medium; a Medium is really a Large, etc. to fit growing Americans?  If this is true, is this encouraging Americans to get larger?

Leave a Reply

