Skip navigation

Okay I resisted long enough to write this journal.  Several years ago, I remember attending a wedding at a predominantly white church in west county St. Louis, MO.  As I was approaching the church entrance, a seminary professor’s wife say, “Hi, Mike.”  The seminary professor’s wife is white, and Mike is black.  One day while at my former job, a white male seminarian recounted this story.  He told me that his little son saw a black man in a local grocery store and thought he was someone else and called the man by someone else’s name.  This white male seminarian laughed at this case of mistaken identity.  Today, I went to a synagogue to interview a rabbi.  I went to the gift shop as I was waiting on the rabbi.  As I left the gift shop, a white lady said to me, “Hey, (insert the name of a black male worker; I didn’t hear what name she called me).”  When I turned around, she was slightly embarrass and said, “Oh, I am sorry!”

I think these are not only cases of mistaken identity but these three instances are telling of something else: some white people need to get out more and mingle with other members of the many minority groups in our culture and world.  It is almost unavoidable considering our world is now a global world.  We are increasingly becoming a global community.  In my neighborhood alone, there are families from India, a Hispanic family, a family from Russia, white families, and us (a black family).  How can you avoid others who are another race or ethnicity unless it is intentional?

Leave a Reply

