Skip navigation

I think we (as a society) need to establish some cell phone rules.  Why? Consider these reasons.  I remember calling a female friend and she answered the phone.  I said hello and I asked, “Is this a good time to talk?”  She said, “No, I am in the ladies’ room.”  I said to myself, “then why answer the phone?”  I also said to her, “Too much information.”  I remember calling another friend.  Again, I asked, “Is this a good time to talk?”  He replied, “No, I am in a meeting.”  Again, I said to myself, “then why answer the telephone?”  Invariably, you’ve seen this too.  Sometimes a fast food clerk can be waiting on someone who is talking on their cell phone.  Isn’t this rude?  Or consider this example that I am guilty of.  I talk much too loud when talking on the cell phone (esp., in tight quarters – like cars, airplanes, etc.).  Isn’t this rude?  Lastly, consider this example.  I teach at a university and often a cell phone will go off in class and a student will actually have a conversation with the caller in class.  Isn’t this rude?

 

One Comment

  1. I couldn’t agree more (the bathroom example is great).

    http://sparkwords.wordpress.com/2008/04/13/10-rules-of-cell-phone-etiquette/


Leave a Reply

