Skip navigation

My daughter who is 19 years old is home from college.  Most parents of adolescents who return after their first year of college knows or expects fireworks.  My lovely daughter landed a job yesterday at K-Mart.  Hallelujah!   Fortunately, the store is less than 15 minutes away by car (depending on traffic).  I mentioned to my daughter yesterday; some days you may need to work an half a mile to the bus stop and catch the bus to work.  And we will pick you up after you get off.  I was surprised by my daughter’s response: “I am not riding the bus.”  I did a whip lash.  Are you kidding me?  I went through my past: I rode the bus to downtown in Kansas City; I rode the city bus to work; I rode the bus to a girl’s house.  I told my colleagues this morning and they verified something I already knew: there is an insidious pollutant in our culture among the young – it’s call entitlement!

Leave a Reply

