Skip navigation

During the NFL or NBA playoffs I often hear commentators say this, “they are in control of their own destiny.”  Is this really true?  Who is really in control?  Can a mere human being with frailities and limitations say he or she is in control?  Can I know with certainty what the outcome of my actions will be?  I don’t think so.   Heck, I don’t even know what will happen the next minute.  Can I control the actions of other frail and finite human beings?  I don’t think so.  To take a recent example, can those who lost millions of dollars because of Madoff’s greed say “I am in control of my destiny?” Nope.  As a Christian I believe in a personal God who is actively and intimately involved in the affairs of mankind; so I can rest at night because God is in total control.  Knowing this relieves me of whole lot.  This does not relieve me of what my responsibilities are – being a responsible husband, father, educator, tax payer, and United States citizen, etc. but I a  relieved that I am not in complete/total control.  Whew, what a relief!

Leave a Reply

