Skip navigation

I am First Vice President of my son’s Middle School PTO (Parent Teacher Organization).  This week we had a meeting.  When I arrived at the school, I was greeted by a counselor and I told her why I was there.  She was surprised and she thanked me many times.  I was more surprised by what she said, “Most fathers will say to their wives, you do that, that’s for women.”  In other words, apparently there is an ‘unwritten law’ that women should fill and have filled historically PTO positions and not men.  Before the Industrial Revolution, men were the chief educators in their homes and took more of a leadership role in their child’s education.  I would love it if more men ponied up and got more involved in their child’s education.  Men, our kids, need to see us at their schools.  Men, the administrators at our kids’ schools, need to see us actively involved.  (I know there are many men of all races, ethnicities, socioeconomic classes, etc indeed involved – Bravo! My charge to you – get other men involved.)

Leave a Reply

