Skip navigation

A friend and former co-worker asked me to comment on Seattle Seahawks cornerback Richard Sherman’s “rant” after he and his teammates, the Seattle Seahawks, defeated the San Francisco 49ers on Sunday, January 19, 2014 to earn a trip to the Super Bowl. Here is the ‘rant’: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x19z4gh_sherman_people.

Here’s my comments:

1) Football, like any sport, is a competitive game. Football, like any sport, has its fair share of big egos. Football, like most sports, has its share of bravados. And football, like most sports, has its share of jawing or trash talking among the players. I am guessing Michael Crabtree, wide receiver for the 49ers, was doing his fair share of trash talking during the game. It appears to me that Sherman was giving Crabtree a little taste of his own medicine.

2) Sherman like many athletes in particular and like many people who are good at what they do in general was certainly in my view being prideful with his comments. Arrogance is something that all people struggle with; especially people who are particularly skilled at something. Personally, I can be quite prideful when it comes to applying Biblical knowledge; something I think I am good at.

3) Pure journalism, as my brilliant daughter Briana Bobo, who majored in Journalism at Indiana University, points out strives to capture raw and unedited footage. What we saw was raw and unedited footage. This was pure journalism. However, what is often paraded as journalism in the media are stories that have been polished and doctored up. So, do we prefer what is true vs. what has been doctored up or even maybe embellished?

4) Notice Sherman did not curse or make any lewd gestures; and “LOB” for the unfamiliar, I discovered, means “Legion of Boom,” Seattle’s nickname for its defense. What I saw was a man who was simply quite emotional after a “big” game and what we heard and saw was unfettered emotion and excitement. One definition I found for rant is: to talk loudly and in a way that shows anger or to complain in a way that is unreasonable. Sherman was talking loudly but it was not with anger; and he certainly was not being unreasonable. Personally, I don’t see this as a rant.

5) I wonder how we would respond if someone had been talking trash to us during the game or effectively disrespecting us and I wonder how we would respond after we had achieved a great feat like Sherman? Would we be polished, refined and reserved or would we “let loose” like Sherman? Do we prefer authenticity or inauthenticity? I can’t speak for you but I likely would have been demonstrative like Sherman.

Leave a Reply

